One Flesh or Two?

The Lord prompted a question in me today, one that caused me to pause and reflect. In marriage, God is making me one with my wife. For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh. Genesis 2:24.
 
Are there areas of disunity in my marriage? Are there areas of non-oneness lurking in the back of my mind that need to be addressed before they cause pain and frustration? As I contemplated this, I specifically prayed over several areas in my life and asked God to bring to mind places in which I am not in agreement with my wife. 
• Is there disunity in my sex life?
• Is there disunity in the way we handle finances?
• Is there disunity in our chore responsibilities?
• Is there disunity in the way we discipline our children?
Over the next few days, I’ll be praying about my oneness with my wife, and if God brings to mind areas of non-unity, I’ll be praying through them, seeking humility and guidance before I discuss them with my spouse. It’s sometimes easier to ignore problems than address them, but I’m excited to see how God draws me closer to my wife as I seek to serve her.
Jon
About Rob

Married to my high school sweetheart for 40 years. Blessed to be a frequent speaker at marriage and men's conferences, retreats and seminars. Author of 4 books on marriage. Check out resources at allinmariage.org.

Leave a Reply

Latest on Twitter

Top Marriage Blog

