What if…….

I heard a provocative question the other day that I wanted to throw out to the husband gang…..

If you didn’t have to worry about making a living, what would you most like to do for the rest of your life?

If a long lost relative left you a trust fund that paid you what you’re making now (okay, maybe a little more) every month for the rest of your lifetime – what would you most like to do with your life?

I was honestly disappointed at how fast my mind fast-forwarded to so many selfish, self-gratifying things. Sorry to admit, but my first thoughts were of me, and what I would like, and what I would buy, and what I would do with all that time off. Would I take the time and do nothing? Would I veg out? Would I keep my job and have extra money to spend on fun toys for me?

After slapping myself around for a bit, I tried to hear from God. I tried to dream about what He would have me do for the rest of my days. What would make my life special – really count for something? If I didn’t have to go in to the office – where would I go? What would He want me to do?

Let’s include your wife’s income also – so neither of you has to work any more…….. What would you do with the rest of your life?

(If no one comments, I guess it wasn’t that provocative after all.)

Huz

About Rob

Married to my high school sweetheart for 40 years. Blessed to be a frequent speaker at marriage and men's conferences, retreats and seminars. Author of 4 books on marriage. Check out resources at allinmariage.org.

One response to “What if…….

  1. Ben

    good question –
    my first thought would be that I could finally do what I want to do, instead of spending the next couple years building up resources and knowledge to get to that place on my own. Typing it just now, it stands out what a hugely bad idea that would be. I firmly believe that even the most mundane things you have to do now that you really really wish you didn’t, are God’s way of preparing you to handle what He wants you to grow in to. You don’t see many 12 year old astronauts because they just haven’t grown into being able to do that job yet. Same with us in our daily grind, God’s growing us in some way to fit into all those good works He has prepared for us to walk in.

Leave a Reply

Latest on Twitter

Top Marriage Blog

