What’s Your GPS?

As a husband, telling me to “love my wife” sometimes comes across like directions to a house in the country: “Take a left at the big rock, go for a while, and take another left at the tree with the giant bump on the limb.” It’s just too vague. That’s what’s nice about having a GPS; it’s a map that clearly reveals how to reach my destination.
When it comes to loving my wife, I’ve made it a habit to carry a marriage “GPS” in my wallet. It’s written on a piece of paper and shows me the way to my wife’s heart. I ask her to share with me three things I can do that make her feel loved. Instead of guessing what makes her feel loved, I seek out what actions I can take that will truly bless her. Sure, the first time I asked her, it was pretty scary. I was giving her a blank check and agreeing to perform whatever she asked. However, because I desire to love and serve her, I want to do whatever it takes to treasure her.
I recently asked my wife again to give me her Top Three list. Below are the ways I’m going to love her:
1) Hold her hand in public
2) Vacuum the carpet every week
3) Occasionally tell her that she is beautiful
Over the next couple months, I’m going to work hard to love my wife in these ways. And it sure is a great feeling to know specific actions I can take to show her my love rather than guessing the way to her heart.
Jon
About Rob

Married to my high school sweetheart for 40 years. Blessed to be a frequent speaker at marriage and men's conferences, retreats and seminars. Author of 4 books on marriage. Check out resources at allinmariage.org.

Leave a Reply

Latest on Twitter

Top Marriage Blog

