God Said What?

God says alot about relationships in the Bible. He has some specific “commandments” for husbands in marriage. Yes, commandments – not holy suggestions, not rules for successful living that we can ponder and decide if we want to apply them or not.

We will explore each, but today let’s throw out for review and discussion – I Corinthians 7:2-5.

But since there is so much immorality, each man should have his own wife, and each woman her own husband. The husband should fulfill his marital duty to his wife, and likewise the wife to her husband. The wife’s body does not belong to her alone but also to her husband. In the same way, the husband’s body does not belong to him alone but also to his wife.

Do not deprive each other except by mutual consent and for a time, so that you may devote yourselves to prayer. Then come together again so that Satan will not tempt you because of your lack of self-control.

The sexual side of this command is quite obvious, and all of us men would heartily say “amen” to it. We do not want to be “deprived”. I want to explore another angle of this command that I feel God gave me a about a year ago that I had never seen in this passage..

My body is not my own, God says. Besides my sexual “body”, what other parts of my body are “not my own“? My eyes, my ears, my hands, arms, feet, etc. – you get the picture. If these body parts also belong to my wife – how am I to respond? How do I use them to bless her and make her life more comfortable – lighten her load?

Do I only have eyes for her, or do they wander away to other women? Do my ears really listen when she wants to talk about what is important to her, or do I hear what Charlie Brown characters hear at school…. “wahwah, wahwah, wahwah….”? Are my hands and arms ready to help her at a moment’s notice? Dishes, vacuuming, trash, yard, taking the kids for a while? Are my legs (and my tired back…oh, the back) ready to go shopping with her to pick out that perfect wedding gift for a friend, or simply a short trip to the grocery store? (is there really such a thing as a short trip?)

Ask God to show you how He wants you to give your body to Him and to her. Love your wife with action, not just words and the occasional gift. Love her with your body too…………………It doesn’t belong to you any more.

Huz

About Rob

Married to my high school sweetheart for 40 years. Blessed to be a frequent speaker at marriage and men's conferences, retreats and seminars. Author of 4 books on marriage. Check out resources at allinmariage.org.

3 responses to “God Said What?

  1. First, here’s my AMEN(!) for the not wanting to be deprived thing. Big shout out to the Father for having our backs on that. Second, I completely agree with the other ways of giving your body to your wife. That’s excellent revelation. It speaks to offering each other COMPLETE selflessness.

  2. Very good, but I have one problem with what you said – the moment you refer to “Dishes, vacuuming, trash, yard, taking the kids for a while” as “helping her” – there’s a problem!

  3. Jon

    Wonderful reminder, Huz! Too often I look at that verse and completely overlook the “other” body parts–ears, eyes, hands, back. Definitely given me something to think deeper and pray about.

Leave a Reply

