Huh?

Do you ever look at your wife and just have to say, Huh? What does that mean? I’m not following you or, I am clueless.

I will admit to thousands of such brain freezes over 35 years. Although I understand more than I used to (thank you God) there is still SO much to learn about this woman God brought to me (thank you God). It is interesting though that God tell us, actually commands us, to understand her. Check this out….

I Peter 3:7a – You husbands in the same way, live with your wives in an understanding way, as with someone weaker, since she is a woman;

Guys, do you understand your wife? Are you living with her in an understanding way? The real question is this – are you even trying to understand her, what makes her tick, what her needs are, etc.? If we’re honest, sometimes we just throw our hands up and admit defeat. I’ll never understand women. I just can’t do anything right.

Welcome to the club. If anyone gets it right all the time, they are probably not reading a blog for husbands. If you are – please send along some answers to the rest of us.

Here’s the deal – God commands us to live with our wife “in understanding”, or “with understanding”. We don’t have a choice. Read the rest of the verse to see what happens if we don’t. So, what’s a fella to do?

My 2-cents is this – become a student of marriage, and a student of your wife. Read books, attend seminars, talk to her (her #1 option), talk with other husbands and please pray. God promises wisdom in abundance if we just “ask”. I am planning on sharing some thoughts about how to better understand our wife’s needs over the next days/weeks – and I hope you will join in and share helpful scriptures, books, resources, etc.

We will be held accountable for how we do in this area. HELP!

Huz

About Rob

Married to my high school sweetheart for 40 years. Blessed to be a frequent speaker at marriage and men's conferences, retreats and seminars. Author of 4 books on marriage. Check out resources at allinmariage.org.

Leave a Reply

